Facebook Snooze Button: Mute Annoying Pals for 30 Days
We all have at least one friend who annoys us with his / her intemperate posts, videos, pictures and audio clips in our news feeds. We have two ways to get rid of him- by blocking or by un-friending. Either ways, it looks rude and unsocial.
Facebook Snooze Button Arrives
With its snooze feature, Facebook has brought a remedy to it. With Facebook’s snooze button, you can mute someone’s posts for 30 days in your news feed without even unfriending or unfollowing him. Using the feature, you can “snooze” friends, groups or pages for 30 days by clicking the drop-down menu on a post.
Facebook product manager Shruthi Muraleedharan said in a post:
“We’ve heard from people that they want more options to determine what they see in News Feed and when they see it. With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time.
The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not be notified. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end, and the setting can also be reversed at any time.”
The Facebook Snooze Button was being tested for quite some time. However, when it was first launched the company seems to have made some changes to it. In beginning, the snooze feature was bundled alongside the existing unfollow feature.
That means, you had to tap the “unfollow or snooze” option from the dropdown box and then make a selection whether you wanted to permanently unfollow or just temporarily mute their messages.